Professor Richard Crooks to be awarded the Faraday Medal by the RSC

RSC logoIn recognition of very significant contributions to various areas of electrochemistry, Professor Richard Crooks has been invited to be the 2015 recipient of the Faraday Medal.

The Faraday Medal is currently awarded annually by the Electrochemistry Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) to an electrochemist working outside the UK in recognition of their outstanding original contributions and innovation in any field of electrochemistry. 

The Medal will be presented at the annual UK Electrochem meeting, planned for September 13-15, 2015 at Durham University. The meeting will also feature a plenary lecture from Prof. Crooks, and themed parallel sessions of lectures.

The medal itself is made from sterling silver. It is 2 inches in diameter and the front face depicts a bust of Michael Faraday. On the obverse face there is a cyclic voltammogram with the winner's name engraved underneath. The Medal was first awarded in 1977 but in the early years it was not awarded every year.