Two CEC Faculty Members to Receive the National Medal of Science

National Medal of ScienceProfessors Allen Bard and John Goodenough, both CEC faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin, were among twelve eminent researchers named by President Obama as the next recipients of the National Medal of Science. The National Medal of Science is highest honor bestowed by the United States Government upon scientists and engineers. The recipients will receive their awards at a White House ceremony in early 2013.

Allen Bard has been on the chemistry faculty at UT since 1958, and now holds the Hackerman-Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry and is Director of the Center for Electrochemistry. John Goodenough joined the faculty of UT's Cockrell School of Engineering in 1986, and now holds the Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering. Both are well known for their contributions to electrochemistry and electrochemical systems.

“I am proud to honor these inspiring American innovators,” President Obama said.  “They represent the ingenuity and imagination that has long made this Nation great—and they remind us of the enormous impact a few good ideas can have when these creative qualities are unleashed in an entrepreneurial environment.”

The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation. Awarded annually, the Medal recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering. A committee of Presidential appointees selects nominees on the basis of their extraordinary knowledge in and contributions to chemistry, engineering, computing, mathematics, or the biological, behavioral/social, and physical sciences.

This year’s recipients of the National Medal of Science are listed below.
Dr. Allen Bard, University of Texas at Austin, TX
Dr. Sallie Chisholm, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA
Dr. Sidney Drell, Stanford University, CA
Dr. Sandra Faber, University of California, Santa Cruz, CA
Dr. Sylvester James Gates, University of Maryland, MD
Dr. Solomon Golomb, University of Southern California, CA
Dr. John Goodenough, University of Texas at Austin, TX
Dr. M. Frederick Hawthorne, University of Missouri, MO
Dr. Leroy Hood, Institute for Systems Biology, WA
Dr. Barry Mazur, Harvard University, MA
Dr. Lucy Shapiro, Stanford University School of Medicine, CA
Dr. Anne Treisman, Princeton University, NJ

Updates and links:
1. story on Allen Bard's award at Texas Science
2. story on John Goodenough's award from the Cockrell School of Engineering