News & Upcoming Events

10/09/2015 - 13:00

Alan CowleyAfter a distinguished 54-year career at the University of Texas at Austin, CEC faculty member Professor Alan Cowley retired on August 31, 2015. A retirement symposium was held on October 9-10.

Alan played a major role in helping establish the department of Chemistry as one of the best in the country through his research,  teaching, and  service. As one of the leading figures in the world-wide renaissance of main group chemistry, he made numerous seminal scientific contributions in inorganic chemistry. His early work was with the group 15 elements, especially the chemistry of phosphorus. Particularly noteworthy contributions include the isolation of compounds with multiple bonds between the heavier main-group elements. Later his attention turned to group 13, and he helped pioneer the development of single-source precursors to important electronic materials such as gallium arsenide, indium phosphide and gallium nitride. Although Alan served the community in many high profile roles, one that that had a major impact on the entire field of chemistry was his involvement in chairing the Gordon Research Conferences for many years. During his career, Alan had over 560 publications and has been recognized for his outstanding achievements with numerous awards. Among these are the ACS Award for Distinguished Service to Inorganic Chemistry and the Royal Society of Chemistry Award for Main-Group Chemistry. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1988. Alan's infectious enthusiasm for chemistry remains undiminished, and he can be found still working in his office. His new title is The Robert A. Welch Chair of Chemistry, Emeritus.

09/11/2015 - 13:00

Xiang Li, a graduate student in the laboratory of Professor Richard M. Crooks, has been selected by the Graduate Fellowship Committee of the Department of Chemistry to receive a Fall 2015 White Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry.

This departmental award is offered to exceptional graduate students in recognition of their excellent research and academic achievements. Xiang recently published "Detection of Hepatitis B Virus DNA with a Paper Electrochemical Sensor" X. Li; K. Scida; R. M. Crooks, Anal. Chem. 2015, 87, 9009-9015 (DOI: 10.1021/acs.analchem.5b02210).  Congrats Xiang!

06/12/2015 - 14:46

The CEC Electrochemical Research Instrumentation Facility has been moved to accommodate building renovations. The facility is now housed in Welch Hall room 2.404. For equipment details and scheduling, please visit the website.

03/03/2015 - 18:07

Jeffrey Dick

Congratulations to CEC graduate student Jeffrey Dick, who has been selected to participate in the 65th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, to be held this summer in Lindau, Germany.

Jeffrey is among 672 young scientists selected from 88 countries who are excellent students, PhD candidates, and post-docs, aged 35 or younger, with a research focus in the fields of medicine, physics, or chemistry. The young scientists were first nominated by a global network of academic partners and then passed a multi-step international selection process.

Jeffrey Dick is a graduate student and NSF Fellow in Allen Bard's research group. He earned his B.S. in Chemistry from Ball State University. His current research concerns application of electrochemistry to ultra-sensitive sensor technologies for the selective detection of single viruses and antibodies.

The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting is an annual scientific conference that invites Nobel prize winners to present to and interact with young researchers from all over the world. The meeting has an informal atmosphere and intensive peer-to-peer contact with the aims of scientific exchange and inspiration of junior scientists. More information is available at

01/09/2015 - 18:25

RSC logoIn recognition of very significant contributions to various areas of electrochemistry, Professor Richard Crooks has been invited to be the 2015 recipient of the Faraday Medal.

The Faraday Medal is currently awarded annually by the Electrochemistry Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) to an electrochemist working outside the UK in recognition of their outstanding original contributions and innovation in any field of electrochemistry. 

The Medal will be presented at the annual UK Electrochem meeting, planned for September 13-15, 2015 at Durham University. The meeting will also feature a plenary lecture from Prof. Crooks, and themed parallel sessions of lectures.

The medal itself is made from sterling silver. It is 2 inches in diameter and the front face depicts a bust of Michael Faraday. On the obverse face there is a cyclic voltammogram with the winner's name engraved underneath. The Medal was first awarded in 1977 but in the early years it was not awarded every year. 

01/06/2015 - 18:16

Graeme HenkelmanThe Department of Chemistry at The University of Texas at Austin recently announced the promotion of CEC faculty member Graeme Henkelman to full professor.

Prof. Henkelman's research concerns the development of simulation methodology to study kinetic processes at the atomic scale. This includes applying density functional theory to determine the mechanisms of catalytic reactions on surfaces and nanoparticles, including core@shell nanoparticles and dendrimer-encapsulated nanoparticles.

11/21/2014 - 20:28

The Center for Electrochemistry will host its annual workshop over the weekend of February 7-8 in Austin, Texas. Click here for information on the 2015 CEC Annual Workshop on Electrochemistry.

Session topics include electrochemical sensors, CO2 reduction, energy conversion and storage, and understanding electrocatalysis with DFT. Registration is open at

11/04/2014 - 13:00

ECS logoCongratulations to the UT-Austin Electrochemical Society Student Chapter on receiving the prestigious Outstanding ECS Student Chapter Award for 2014 from The Electrochemical Society.

The student chapter is led by faculty advisor Prof. Arumugam Manthiram and Chapter President Josephine Cunningham. The annual Outstanding ECS Student Chapter Award recognizes one student chapter that has distinguished itself through active participation in the Electrochemical Society’s technical activities, outstanding community and outreach activities in science and engineering education, and a robust membership base.

The award was presented at the 2014 Fall ECS meeting, and occasion was marked a few weeks later in Austin with a reception and an award seminar presented by Netz Arroyo on the topic of redox flow batteries.

06/11/2014 - 13:00

desalination graphicThe innovative desalination process invented by CEC graduate student researcher Kyle Knust and Prof. Richard Crooks was featured in the June 2014 issue of Popular Science.

05/25/2014 - 13:00

StevensonProfessor Keith Stevenson testified in Washington, DC to Congress at a special hearing on nanotechnology on May 20, 2014. Professor Stevenson represented Texas and discussed the impact of the national nanotechnology initiative and how UT is addressing STEM and workforce needs.