Charles N. Reilley Award Presented to Crooks at Pittcon 2010

Professor and Chemistry and Biochemistry Department Chairman Richard M. Crooks was presented today with the Charles N. Reilley Award in Electroanalytical Chemistry at the Pittcon Conference and Expo in Orlando, Florida.

The Pittcon Conference and Expo for laboratory science is organized by The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy. The event brings together nearly 20,000 attendees from industry, academia and government from 90 countries.

About Richard M. Crooks

Crooks received his BS degree from The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1981 working under the direction of Dr. Larry R. Faulkner. He graduated with a Ph.D. from The University of Texas at Austin in 1987 working under the direction of Dr. Allen J. Bard specializing in electrochemistry. After completing postdoctoral work at MIT (1987–1989), Crooks started his teaching career as an Assistant Professor at the University of New Mexico from 1989–1993. He later transferred to Texas A&M becoming an Associate Professor from 1993–1997 with a promotion to full Professor from 1997–2005. During his time at A&M, Crooks was the founding director of the Center for Integrated Microchemical Systems. Currently, Crooks is the Robert A. Welch Chair in Materials Chemistry and Chairman of the UT Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He is the recipient of the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Electrochemistry (2008) and the Carl Wagner Memorial Award of the Electrochemical Society (2003).

The Crooks group has broad interests in electrochemistry, biological and chemical microsensors, and nanomaterials. At present, projects are focused in two areas: (1) synthesis, characterization, and testing of highly selective nanocomposite catalysts, (2) design and fabrication of a new family of sensors based on micro- and nanofluidic devices.